top of page

2017/18 Canadian Hockey League Electronic Predictions


This past Friday I went to a Western Hockey League game with my girlfriend (who by the way writes this blog), my friend Eric (who by the way writes this blog), and his girlfriend Kaitlin. The Calgary Hitmen ended up beating the Swift Current Broncos 6-1. Recently traded Conner Chaulk scored twice for the Hitmen against his old team. You may have figured this out by now, but I really like the sport of hockey. I also love video games and I actually shelled out an absurd amount of money for EA Sport's NHL 18 back in the fall. I have played it quite a bit, but suddenly I had an idea.

Using NHL 18 I simulated the Western Hockey League, Ontario Hockey League, and Quebec Major Hockey League regular seasons, their playoffs, and the Memorial Cup finals. Over the next few days I'll post my findings. Of course, this is just a silly experiment. I updated all the teams to have the most recent rosters, but the game's predictions are often very inaccurate and honestly quite comical. I want to also preface that I didn't play any of these games or interfere with the results.

Stay tuned I'll post the WHL results in the next couple of days. What predictions do you have?

bottom of page